MICHIGAN HIGH SCHOOL RODEO MINUTES

Date: September 24, 2022

Time: 7 pm

Meeting called to order: President Jeremy Phillips called the meeting to

order at 10:12 am.

Secretary Report

The minutes of the Mid Winter meeting were submitted at the June 12th Awards meeting and approved. A motion was made by Tori Patterson Supported by Holli Haley to approve the minutes submitted and the motion carried. The following are the minutes of the June 12th meeting in White Cloud Mi.

Treasurer's Report

Treasurer Dee Yeager reported finances were healthy and balance sheets were shared with board members and approved in the MiHSRA board meeting. Fund Balances were positive and each individual rodeo Profit loss sheet had been shared with the board members for review to help better schedule the next year.

Dee also explained the process the members need to follow to request their earned scholarship money after they have met the criteria of one semester of advanced learning after high school graduation. A member needs to submit together a request letter containing their desire to receive the funds with directions of where to send the funds along with either a copy of the official transcript of their completed semester or a copy of their certificate of competition if it is a certificate-type program.

President's Report

President Jeremy Phillips opened with a thank you to awards chairperson Brandy Casey, stating that the awards were funded 100% by donations and sponsors this year. He continued to touch on the association's belief that sportsmanship is first and foremost to be observed by all members and parents at all times in and around the arena. He again explained that parents in the arena have to be in dress code the same as members.

National Director Report

Elwyn Petcher reported that all national finals are a go and facilities are on schedule to host both the Junior High in Perry, Ga, and the Senior High in Gillette, Wy. He touched on the importance of the members pursuing national scholarships while they attend the national finals.

In closing, he addressed a grave concern about parents and sportsmanship. He spoke to all members and parents that bullying either verbal, text, or otherwise would not be tolerated by the association and if it were to continue disciplinary steps would be taken. All members are welcome and encouraged to compete but must follow the code of conduct and rules set forth by the association and parents sign those codes of conduct also each year on the member application filed with the national office.

Committee Reports and Elections:

Awards: Current chair Brandy Casey reported she had a very generous response from sponsors this year and hoped the members enjoyed the awards that were at the front of the meeting pavilion.

With no other volunteers, Brandy Casey is appointed the awards chair for 2022/23

Queen: Co-chair persons Billie Scott and Kristen Hughston reported a successful queen and princess contest for the season and thanked everyone that participated.

With no opposition they both remain co-chairs for 2022/23

Saftey: Elewy Pletcher and Jeremy Phillips these committee chairs are not appointed but are responsible for making safety calls on the arena floor with judges at each rodeo.

Shooting sports: current Tom Bell agreed to remain range master for the next season 2022/23

Finals Program: Current Chair Amy McCausey agreed to remain the chairperson for the next season 2022/23 A Thank you from our publisher Deb Johnson was brought up by Shelley Neukom. Deb had asked that Amy be thanked by all for the efforts and time she puts into the state finals program. The publishing was made much easier because of everything she does.

National Jackets & Shirts: Current chair Brandy Casey with no other volunteers will remain for the 2022/23 season

Quilt: Current chair Amy McCausey with no other volunteers will remain for the 2022/23 season.

Scholarship Auction: Current Chair Kim Weston, Mrs. Weston expressed a desire to step down. Volunteers Mrs. Knoper, Mrs Booton, and Mrs. Fullerhart agreed to cochair this committee for the 2022/23 season.

Senior Interviews: Current co-chairs Cindi Cowels, and Michelle Daniels. Both current chairs have graduating seniors next year so volunteers were sought to take this committee. Mrs. Bennett agreed to chair the senior interview committee for the 2022/23 season.

Scholarship Points: Current co-chairs Shelley Neukom, Dee Yeager, and Denise Fullerhart.

Shelley, Dee agreed to stay on for this season and Cindy Kennedy volunteered to assist for 2022/23.

Cowboy Crisis Fund Baskets: Current chairs Tracy OcConnell, Christy Huver, Erin Howell.

All agreed to continue for the 2022/23 season

Wreath fundraiser:

Jeremy Phillips then took the student members aside to elect officers and event directors for 2022/23.

President-elect Tori Paterson

Vice president-elect Amorin Judah

Secretary elect Amanda Knoper

Queen elect Charliegh Scott

Junior High President-elect Kyanne Casey

Princess elect Lilah Judah

Adult board elections were held

President Jeremy Phillips's term does not expire till 2023

Vice President position is a one-year term Elwyn Pletcher nominated Marc Huver with the support of Jeremy Phillips. With no other nominations, Marc was elected Vice President for 2022/23

Treasurer's position is also a one-year term Bridgett Pletcher nominated Dee Yeager with support from Holli Haley. With no other nominations, Dee was elected to serve as Treasurer for 2022/23

Secretary's position is also a one-year term, Holli Haley nominated Shelley Neukom with the support of Dee Yeager. With no other nominations given Shelley was elected to serve as Secretary for 2022/23.

Directors are a two-year position that alternates with one director from each region to be elected per year.

This year Kevin Kesar's term from the southern region is up for election and he expressed his desire to not seek re-election. Brandy Casey nominated Angela Farris of Coldwater Mi with the support of Shelley Neukom and no other nominations were offered Angela will serve in the southern region for the 2022/2024 term.

This year in the western region Director Aaron Bennett's position was up for election. Director Bennett expressed he did not wish to seek another term. Subsequently, two nominations were received for this position Billie Scott of White Cloud Mi and Mike Knoper of Hudsonville Mi. After a vote of the membership, Billie Scott will serve for the 2022/24 term in the western region.

This year in the Eastern region Cindy Kennedy's term is up for election. Cindy excepted the nomination to serve again and with no other nominations offered she will serve the eastern region term for 2022/24.

In new business, a clarification to the fall schedule was made that the August two-day rodeo to be held in Nashville Mi will be canceled and replaced with the Mint Festival one-day rodeo in St Johns, Mi.

Also to be added to the fall schedule was the fall reined cow event to be held August 6th in Imlay Mi.

With no further business brought to the floor a motion to adjourn was made by Holli Haley and supported by Trey Casey. Motion carried meeting was adjourned by President Jeremy Phillips 11:48am.

Respectfully Submitted
Shelley Neukom
MiHSRA Secretary